Post Help With Normalization

hi, im currently studying a database module at university and as part of our coursework we have to normalize this to 3NF so i am not looking for the answers to this by any means. i have a couple of questions about my 1NF:

PROBLEM:
    Retail(RID, Rlocation(StaffID, staffname, StaffPHNumber), (ProductID, ProductName, amount))

Functional Dependances:
    RID > Rlocation
    StaffID > StaffName
    StaffID > StaffPHNumber
    ProductID > ProductName

1NF - No repeating Groups

Retail Location(RID, Rlocation)
    Staff(StaffID, StaffName, StaffPHNumber, RID)
    Product(ProductID, ProductName, amount, RID)

there are now no repeating groups and all functional dependances are present, the RID is displayed as a foreign key in staff and product to allow the tables to be joined.

however my question is have i done too much with this only being 1NF?
    and am i allowed to introduce foreign keys in 1NF?, if not when would i and how would they be represented here
    Last edited by db_; 11-02-10 at 10:28.

ADD TO: help with normalisation

2NF - No Partical key dependances
    Staff(StaffID, StaffName, StaffPHNumber, RID)

There are no P.K.D's and this is already in 2NF

3NF - no T.K.D
    Staff(StaffID, StaffName, RID)
    StaffPHNo(StaffID,StaffPHNumber)

There was a transitive dependancy from StaffName > StaffPHNumber and this is moved to a new table staffphno.

As far as i can see this is now normalized to 3NF, but one thing im learning from uni is: if u think its right, its probably wrong, and if you think its wrong then its deffinetly wrong

what is staffPHNumber, if its a unique value and always known at the time creating the row and doens't change over time then that has the feel of a candidate primary key. if hgowever its a phoine number then you need to think about what is relevant about phone numbers
    howmany phone numbers do you need per person, are thise numbers shared, and so on.