Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    31

    Unanswered: Grid Control Installation error

    Hi

    i tried reinstall grid control, but it fails by the point "connection to oracle database". It tells me maybe the db or listener is down or the credentials are wrong and
    "ERRORQLException null resultset"
    but i double check it, db & listener are running and sys password is also correct. Any ideas how this could happens?

    Kind regards
    ACID1943

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    >Any ideas how this could happens?
    GC could be attempting to use a different listener or DB than the ones you checked.

    What is OS name & version?
    post results from following SQL
    SELECT * FROM V$VERSION;

    what additional clues exist within log file?
    Last edited by anacedent; 11-07-10 at 18:13.
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    31
    Hi

    there´s only one db and not more.
    This is the output from your command

    SQL> SELECT * FROM V$VERSION;

    BANNER
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Oracle Database 11g Enterprise Edition Release 11.2.0.1.0 - 64bit Production
    PL/SQL Release 11.2.0.1.0 - Production
    CORE 11.2.0.1.0 Production
    TNS for Linux: Version 11.2.0.1.0 - Production
    NLSRTL Version 11.2.0.1.0 - Production


    The weblogic server is version 10.3.2 and grid control is the latest release. I can´t find any log entry about that. Which log file you mean?

    Kind regards
    ACID1943
    Last edited by ACID1943; 11-08-10 at 04:08.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    796
    Provided Answers: 1
    Are you using an existing Db for the repository, or letting GC build a new one for you?
    90% of users' problems can be resolved by punching them - the other 10% by switching off their PCs.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    31
    Hi

    i´m using a existing db with SID vcenter. At the point
    define the db settings or oracle db connection i got the error
    message

    hostname: vc-db1.xxx.de
    port: 1521
    SID: vcenter
    SYS: 4telvor8

    connection with sqlplus works fine

    sqlplus sys/4telvor8@vcenter as sysdba

    SQL*Plus: Release 11.2.0.1.0 Production on Mon Nov 8 12:24:27 2010

    Copyright (c) 1982, 2009, Oracle. All rights reserved.


    Connected to:
    Oracle Database 11g Enterprise Edition Release 11.2.0.1.0 - 64bit Production
    With the Partitioning, OLAP, Data Mining and Real Application Testing options

    SQL>

    So i don´t know how to solve the problem.
    Kind regards
    ACID1943

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    796
    Provided Answers: 1
    Other users have reporting problems when using an existing Db; is there any reason why you can't use a separate one?
    90% of users' problems can be resolved by punching them - the other 10% by switching off their PCs.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    31
    Hi

    not really, but the first installation was successful at this point, but fails later because of secure omg failure. So i read in the docs that i have to use the weblogic 10.3.2 and not the 10.3.3.
    And for my opinion the second installation should work also, but ok it fails now. And my target is to fix this and not use another db. But if i have no other option i will / must try your solution.
    Any other ideas how to solve this problem?

    Kind regards
    ACID1943

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    796
    Provided Answers: 1
    Sorry, not from me.
    90% of users' problems can be resolved by punching them - the other 10% by switching off their PCs.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    31
    Hi

    now i can connect to oracle db, but i get a failure in the "repository configuration" hope anyone can help me again in this issue, problem looks for me that the db file mgmt_ecm_depot1.dbf not exists. If i do a ls on the db folder, there´s no file. How could this happen, that the file is not beeing created during installation process?
    Code:
    INFO: oracle.sysman.top.oms:Still Running...
    INFO: oracle.sysman.top.oms:Completed...
    INFO: oracle.sysman.top.oms:exiting the thread...
    INFO: oracle.sysman.top.oms:[Initializing the EM RCU Runner, Running the Schema Action, Schema Action Completed Successfully]
    INFO: oracle.sysman.top.oms: action logger path calculated finally: /u01/app/oracle/gridcontrol/oms11g/sysman/log/schemamanager/m_110810_1032_PM/m_110810_1032_PM.TRANSX/
    INFO: oracle.sysman.top.oms:The transx command execution is completed with the status 0
    INFO: oracle.sysman.top.oms:process_id:1wo2zgu0td08u
    INFO: oracle.sysman.top.oms:Failure...
    INFO: oracle.sysman.top.oms:1 error(s) happened in performing the action:
    INFO: oracle.sysman.top.oms:1):
    ORA-00376: file 7 cannot be read at this time
    ORA-01110: data file 7: '/u01/app/oracle/oradata/vcenter/mgmt_ecm_depot1.dbf'
    File:/u01/app/oracle/gridcontrol/oms11g/sysman/admin/emdrep/sql/core/latest/blackout/blackout_tables.sql
    Statement:CREATE TABLE MGMT_BLACKOUT_SCHEDULE (
        blackout_guid RAW(16),
        schedule_index NUMBER(3),
        frequency_code NUMBER(2),
        start_time DATE,
        end_time DATE,
        execution_hours NUMBER(3),
        execution_minutes NUMBER(3),
        interval NUMBER,
        months MGMT_JOB_INT_ARRAY,
        days MGMT_JOB_INT_ARRAY,
        duration NUMBER DEFAULT 0,
        timezone_info NUMBER(1),
        timezone_offset NUMBER,
        timezone_region VARCHAR2(64),
        duration_source NUMBER(1) DEFAULT 1
    ) TABLESPACE MGMT_ECM_DEPOT_TS
    MONITORING
    
    INFO: oracle.sysman.top.oms:The plug-in Repository Configuration has failed its perform method
    INFO: Cfm.save() was called
    INFO: Cfm.save(): 8 aggregate instances saved
    INFO: done waiting for Action from 22:30:42.780
    Kind regards
    ACID1943
    Last edited by ACID1943; 11-08-10 at 17:48.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    796
    Provided Answers: 1
    Not sure why it failed to create the file - do you have enough disk space? Is the file somewhere else on the server?

    Have you tried creating the file manually?
    90% of users' problems can be resolved by punching them - the other 10% by switching off their PCs.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    31
    Hi

    the tablespace was in the system if i use the command
    select * from v$tablespace;
    i saw the tablespace, i dropped it and now the installation was successful

    thx for your reply!
    kind regards
    ACID1943

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    796
    Provided Answers: 1
    No problem - glad it's working
    90% of users' problems can be resolved by punching them - the other 10% by switching off their PCs.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •