Question ERD creation and then normalisation.

Hello all,

I'm new to database design & development. I have a project to develop an ERD for a Veterinary Hospital and then normalise the resulting tables. The question actually goes this way:

"Task 1: Draw an ERD that describes the content and structure of the data held by the Hospital.

Task 2: Produce the resulting normalised tables clearly indicating the primary and foreign keys."

My problem: After drawing up the ERD, each entity becomes a table. Right? For One to many relationships, the primary key is placed as a foreign key in the many side of the relationship...For one-to-one relationships, the tables from the two entities are combined. Right? Now how do i normalise the tables (i know the process) without a data set? When i try creating a data set using the tables, it all looks already normalised. I'm really confused!

Unhappy

any answers, please?

dude, you waited twenty minutes and then bumped your thread?

very poor etiquette

at a minimum, wait 24 hours, and then don't bump

rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

Quote Originally Posted by uzobizu View Post
    Hello all,
    Now how do i normalise the tables (i know the process) without a data set? When i try creating a data set using the tables, it all looks already normalised. I'm really confused!
    fake the process, after all this sort of assignment is more about the road to the final design not neccessarily the final design itself

ferisntance you could start with customers
    and list what you know
    eg their name, address, contact numbers, the type, name of pet, detailss of a treatement,, who treated them and so on and what with... y'get the picture
    consider adding several rows for different treatments eg 01/jan exam, 02/jan op, 05/jan returned to owner
    consider adding other names (eg childrens names)