Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Disk full error

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    127

    Unanswered: Disk full error

    I see this message in the diag.log, v8.2. Its an OLTP database. When I searched the net, I've seen that it might be due to redirected restore or false alarm. Not everything matches my message and the ones I have seen are related to 9.7. Appreciate any help.

    2010-11-14-00.55.43.676566-300 I36037641A604 LEVEL: Error
    PID : 5894282 TID : 1 PROC : db2bp
    INSTANCE: pajzgr0 NODE : 000
    APPID : *LOCAL.pajzgr0.101114052447
    FUNCTION: DB2 UDB, oper system services, sqlowrite, probe:200
    MESSAGE : ZRC=0x850F000C=-2062614516=SQLO_DISK "Disk full."
    DIA8312C Disk was full.
    DATA #1 : File handle, PD_TYPE_SQO_FILE_HDL, 8 bytes
    0x0FFFFFFFFFFFD9B0 : 0000 0005 0000 0000 ........
    DATA #2 : unsigned integer, 8 bytes
    7605
    DATA #3 : signed integer, 8 bytes
    6686
    DATA #4 : signed integer, 4 bytes
    2

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    335
    Hi,

    i guess that you didn't had a Tablespace-Container that ran full, right? There might be several reasons:
    - dbcfg-Filesystem ran full, due to a load writing a lot of error messages into this filesystem.
    - DB2 was not able to archive log-file fast enough (into TSM). Logfilesystem might ran full. Also TSM might be unavailable for a short time, which may cause the same issues.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    127
    There was no filesystem or tablespace issue. No data was being loaded. We also have groundworks monitoring. If TSM is not available, probably it would say that it couldn't establish connection with the TSM serverr. Isn't that right?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    246
    R u trying to do a restore redirect or or u just saw this in ur diag log ?
    when u faced this issue .

    please provide version tablespaces details
    regds
    paul

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    335
    These were just things that happened to me. You might found another one.

    To your question: Yes, if TSM is down, you'll get messages that DB2 was not able to archive to TSM and that DB2 will try it in 5 Minutes again. But if DB2 couldn't archive fast enough than you don't get messages.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    557
    Quote Originally Posted by Kota View Post
    There was no filesystem or tablespace issue. No data was being loaded. We also have groundworks monitoring. If TSM is not available, probably it would say that it couldn't establish connection with the TSM serverr. Isn't that right?
    Ahh Disk full is a filesystem issue last time I checked

    So, you were not loading data. What were you doing at the time then? There could be multiple reasons on why it happened. More details needed.
    --
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows

    DB2 v9.7.0.6 os 6.1.0.0

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,367
    What jobs were running at that time? Something that creates a file. Maybe export, backup? Check AIX error log (errpt -a) if this is AIX. If this is AIX and you're using JFS, then it could be due to hitting a max file limit (64 GB).

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    127
    No reorgs, no redirected restores are being run. The filesystems are just 40% full. Except for the regular transactions, no other processes were running.An IBM guy with whom I spoke said it is most likely a false alarm.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    127
    To Bella's question, yes its AIX. I already checked errpt and file limits

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    557
    Quote Originally Posted by Kota View Post
    No reorgs, no redirected restores are being run. The filesystems are just 40% full. Except for the regular transactions, no other processes were running.An IBM guy with whom I spoke said it is most likely a false alarm.
    False alarm? I have never seeing false alarm at 100%. It might have been a complex SQL that took all of your temp space.

    If it is your prod box. for your sake you better have home grown scripts that monitor ALL of your drives regularly.
    --
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows

    DB2 v9.7.0.6 os 6.1.0.0

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    Could have also been secondary logs that were released after the transaction completed/aborted.
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,367
    Were there any other messages logged in the db2diag.log at that time?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    127
    The reason I said it MIGHT be a false alarm is after I spoke to an IBM guy.

    There were no application errors.

    The only messages before and after this error were related to log archiving to TSM. Those were successful.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •