Unanswered: "The data has been changed" error, must have record locks

I'm relatively new to Access and have to use it for work. I'm not sure how much information I can divulge but any help would be greatly appreciated. I built a database that is being used by many people. I have a main table where my information is stored and I have an "Open" and "Closed" column for orders. Then I have a query that filters the table for open orders only. Finally all my forms are based off of the open only query. So basically I start with a lot of general information which include a couple of forms, then I have a few filter queries to highlight specific information and they all have forms. Now the problem is that I have to deal with people who do not listen. At first I had no record locks at all. But because people would leave open the dB and not close out the screen or click off a record a write error would occur. So I sent out an emailing giving the proper instructions for the write error, but they didn't listen so I had a bunch of corrupt data in my database and had to go into the back end and compact and repair like 3 times a week. So now I put edited record locks on all the forms and because people still won't exit properly I keep getting emails about "the data has been changed...re edit the record." In my dealings I have only had to click ok and I could then re edit the record but people are having to keep clicking ok and cannot edit the record. Is there a way around this? I need everyone to be able to edit things. Thanks for your help

Provided Answers: 19
    The first question to ask here "Is is this a split database?" Multiple users on a single, non-split database placed on a server is a sure fire way to experience problems such as you've described as well as the data corruption.
    Hope this helps!

The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

split database