Unanswered: How to iterate over Transition Tables in FOR EACH STATEMENT Trigger

Hi everyone,
    I am new to triggers. I have created a FOR EACH STATEMENT update trigger. This is for DB2 iSeries V6R1 database.
    I need to iterate over the NEW_TABLE transition table and perform some tasks. Looks like I can't use the DECLARE csr CURSOR FOR statement in the trigger. I also tried using the FOR v1 AS c1 CURSOR FOR.... statement and I am noticing some weird behavior. It seems to work sometimes. Both these constructs are not in the list of valid clauses I can use in a trigger according to the CREATE TRIGGER documentation. So my question is, how can I iterate over the NEW_TABLE or OLD_TABLE transition tables?

Thanks for your help!
    Henok
    P.S. I have have pasted my sample below. See the sections labeled Example 1 and Example 2.

CREATE TRIGGER update_pack_unpack_item_tr
    AFTER UPDATE on pack_unpack_item
    REFERENCING OLD_TABLE AS otable NEW_TABLE AS ntable
    FOR EACH STATEMENT MODE DB2SQL

p1: BEGIN ATOMIC

DECLARE no_data SMALLINT DEFAULT 0;

-----------Example 1------------
    DECLARE csr CURSOR FOR
    SELECT pack_unpack_item_id, item_id
    FROM ntable
    DECLARE CONTINUE HANDLER FOR NOT FOUND SET no_data = 1;

OPEN csr;
    WHILE no_data = 0
    DO
    FETCH csr INTO p1.n_pack_unpack_item_id, p1.n_item_id;
    --Do some work in here with current row
    END WHILE;
    CLOSE csr;

---------Example 2-----------
    for_1:FOR v1 AS c1 CURSOR FOR
    SELECT pack_unpack_item_id, item_id
    FROM otable
    DO
    --Do some work in here with current row
    END FOR for_1;

END;

Provided Answers: 5
    what is it you are wanting this trigger to do? I really can't understand why you would be iterating through the table when a row getts updated.

Dave