Intro and Question

Hello: newbie Steve here.

I have very little experience with databases: 2 classes in a semester long ago--one on Access and one on MYSQL. With MYSQL (in both Windows 2003 R2/IIS and Windows 2003 R2/Apache environments), the class featured very small, mostly pre-structured databases, that were administered by the class as a whole. Because it's been a while, I would have to re-learn the content of the two survey classes, which I am willing to do, having kept the course materials.

I have very large collections of movies and music, which need to be organized. Some of my movies have been entered into an Excel spreadsheet with a few columns per film: title, release date, DVD wallet pocket number, etc. I want to expand what I have to include music reviews--my own and others--and to improve retrieval and accessibility. Many more films must be entered, however; and I haven't started organizing the much larger music collection. I thought perhaps it would be better to get some expert advice before carrying on with Excel entries, of which I have many thousands to go. Is there any way to transfer the Excel data to another program, other than manually?

Available materials: a few extra IDE and SATA-driven desktop computers, a number of monitors, a 2.4GHz-5GHz router, NICs, including wireless NICs. I also have CAT 5 cable if that is more appropriate. In terms of software, I own Access 2007 and SQL 2005. Of course, I can obtain the freely-downloadable MYSQL.

I also want to use this project as a developmental learning tool for creating other databases on subjects about which I am passionate, in terms of research, document reference, etc . I have lots of time to apply to this: no conflicts whatsoever. I would like to develop sophisticated databases that I would happily and freely share with others.

Any comments would be appreciated, especially those concerned about my starting a project with sophisticated potential.

Thanks,

Steve (forager)