Lightbulb Unanswered: Should I move to Filemaker (versus Access)?

Hi,

I work in a school and we have recently contracted a company for our School Management System (offers a MS Access client front end as well as web portals to a SQL Server backend). It turns out that the system isn't very user friendly and quite buggy (I think largely as it uses MS Access front-end for much of the work). Also this system is limited for us as we are moving to Macs soon and we will have issues using the MS Access interface.

I have just come across FileMaker and see that it is cross-platform (Mac & PC) as well as seems to easily offer a web interface with multiple group security levels.

I was hoping somebody with experience with FM could let me know of its limits regarding DB size, and if there are certain "bugs" or annoyances that come with using it (as I have found with Access in the past). Specifically:

1. In addition to normal data, we would probably upload up to 10MB of documents to the server each day (this would be for about 200 days per year). We would want the server to sustain for quite a few years without lag and other issues... would FM handle this well or would I need a separate MS SQL backend?

2. We could have up to several hundred users interfacing online at any one time. Could the online connectivity of FM handle this?

3. Access has issues with their forms, like the way you move between records sometimes conflicts with new records, causing system freezes. Does FM ever experience these issues, or system freezes?

4. If I start with FM (frontend and backend) and later migrate the backend to SQL Server due to growth, would it be easy to do? I worry that I would have to 1. recode the SQL and 2. have a major task reconnecting the old frontend with the new backend.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Provided Answers: 59
    is it bugs in Access or bugs in the Access application?