Unanswered: Search all columns in Informix table for a value

I am new to Informix, but remember doing this with SQL Server. Basically I want to query all columns in a given table for a specified value (I am learning how a new program works and, as always, documentation is lacking).

Everything I googled references doing it in SQL server.

Also, what flavor of SQL does Informix use? For example, MS uses T-SQL, Oracle uses PL-SQL....

Bullyellis or bulltorious,
    That's quite a cool solution posted on stackoverflow. And thanks for introducing me (and us) to that site.

Just to add some spice to this question:
    This question seems most likely to arise if you have violated the first rule of normalization: No repeated items (or groups of columns). Like providor_1, providor_2, .. providor_9. It is the reason for master-detail tables.

I recall an argument between the Informix instructor (Relational Database Design) and a developer at the NYC HRA, who was designing his database exactly like the above, building the maximum into the structure of the database rather than as a rule (trigger).

Quote Originally Posted by rpaskudniak View Post
    Bullyellis or bulltorious,
    That's quite a cool solution posted on stackoverflow. And thanks for introducing me (and us) to that site.

Just to add some spice to this question:
    This question seems most likely to arise if you have violated the first rule of normalization: No repeated items (or groups of columns). Like providor_1, providor_2, .. providor_9. It is the reason for master-detail tables.

I recall an argument between the Informix instructor (Relational Database Design) and a developer at the NYC HRA, who was designing his database exactly like the above, building the maximum into the structure of the database rather than as a rule (trigger).