Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: mySql to Postgres

Hello everyone

I am a recent graduate and have recently joined my job. I have been assigned a task of introducing a layer between the c++ program and its connectivity with database which would translate a query to any given database which in this case is postgres. We are using mysql++ and I have to write the code such that it works with any database tool.

Could anyone please guide me?

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by gulhk View Post
    ...translate a query to any given database which in this case is postgres. We are using mysql++ and I have to write the code such that it works with any database tool.
    give up now

this is not going to be possible

rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

I am not sure what you are asking for here? Are you saying you need something to dynamically connect to any database and issue an SQL or are you saying that an SQL statement must be executable on any database.

The first possibility above, you could use ODBC as the client and write your application using this client. Another possibility would be to look at Oracle's database gateway solutions which from one database allows you to connect to multiple different databases to issue SQL statements using ODBC.

If it is the second you are looking for then this will be extremely complex because each database server will have its own support or SQL along with their own customizations. To give an example, in Oracle to concatenate two strings you would do string1 || string2, in MySQL this would be CONCAT(string1, string2). You would need to find every difference in every database and do the necessary. This would mean parsing each of the SQL's in advance, then perform the necessary conversions of the SQL statements and then send these to be executed. This parsing and converting prior to executing each statement will add a big performance overhead.