Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    10

    Unanswered: storage folder not visible in Management Studio

    I've been using SQL Server 2005, and have just upgraded to 2008.

    I want to create a full text catalog. To do this you should click on storage. Like this:

    http://www.pinaldave.com/blogfolder/.../1_Catalog.gif

    But there is no storage folder visible in my browser. There's nothing between Service Broker and Security. Any ideas what's wrong?

    Storage was perfectly visible in 2005.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    The Bottom of The Barrel
    Posts
    6,102
    Provided Answers: 1
    Well, first thing I'd do is pop in the 2k8 install disc and make sure I got all the features I was after properly installed.
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.

    *** What Do You Want In The MS Access Forum? ***

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    10
    All features are installed.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    3,662
    Are you missing Storage folder against all databases, or just a specific one? Judging by the screen shot, your AdventureWorks is fine, unless you took the shot from a different instance, thus the question. What is the version of the database?
    "The data in a record depends on the Key to the record, the Whole Key, and
    nothing but the Key, so help me Codd."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    10
    Are you missing Storage folder against all databases, or just a specific one?
    All of them.

    Judging by the screen shot, your AdventureWorks is fine, unless you took the shot from a different instance, thus the question.
    That's not mine. It's from here. I used it to illustrate what I meant by the storage folder, just in case it wasn't clear.


    What is the version of the database?
    SERVERPROPERTY('productversion')= '10.0.1600.22'
    SERVERPROPERTY ('productlevel') = 'RTM'
    SERVERPROPERTY ('edition') = 'Express Edition with Advanced Services'

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    3,662
    I was actually asking about the database version, not instance version. But it's good that you misunderstood me this time around, because I don't see you mentioning that you upgraded to express. Can I assume you upgraded from sqlexpress2k5? Also, read edition capabilities, and see if there's anything there that might point you in the right direction. I actually never had to play with express, always had either personal or developer installed.
    "The data in a record depends on the Key to the record, the Whole Key, and
    nothing but the Key, so help me Codd."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •