Unanswered: advice in the layout of a fairly large database

i am looking for someone to give me a little help(advice) with setting up a fairly large database. i would like to have a little back and forth dialog about if i am doing things correctly.

i'm not talking about little things like how to create a column and stuff. i'm talking about more complicated things like how i should be rolling over archive data to different tables/databases, which indexes to create... stuff that a real/good dba gets paid to know.

it would be great to do it over a forum, as maybe others can learn from it too.

anyone interested?

i am a software programmer, and while i have done plenty of projects that use databases, i haven't done any on the scale of what will eventually (and fairly quickly) hold terabytes of data. i actually already have a system up and running, but it was done in a hurry, and i know it should be tweaked.

if anyone is interested, lemme know and i'll start posting my questions/descriptions.

thanks a lot.

okie

Provided Answers: 12
    First question: what do you consider "fairly large"?
    What is the estimated size in GB?
    How many rows will your biggest table have?

good question.

from the looks of our current system (which has been running for around 3 weeks now), my biggest table has around 11 million rows in it. i have a few tables that are about half that size, and several that run about 1/10th that size.

currently, the size is 11GB.

things will get added over time, but the bulk of everything is already there (maybe 80%-90%).

i would estimate this database will grow about 150-200 GB in size per year.

as i am assuming is the case with most databases, the bulk on what will actually be queried will be information gathered in the past 3-6 months.

11 Million rows is more considered "medium sized" in the PostgreSQL world...

It does sound you want to look into partioning though.