Unanswered: setting up two copies of the same database with SQL server 2008

Hello, I am new to SQL server 2008 and have been given a mini-research project from my supervisor to find out possible solutions or options to a problem. I have searched the web for possible configurations and solutions and have not found any good documentation. This question might have been answered elsewhere in the forum, but I have not located it as of yet.

We are using SQL server 2008. The ultimate goal is to have the same database in two different physical locations (two different states), both are updatable, and they update each other if one has any changes made to it. I have read about mirroring the database, doing one of the three kinds of replication, and also possibly simply installing SQL server 2008 on the two domain controllers. I was wondering if anyone knew of any good documentation or had any ideas about the possible configurations, solutions, system/network requirements, any third party software, or any other helpful information?

What business problem is your solution expected to solve? High availability? Geographically separated load balancing? Disaster recovery?
    "The data in a record depends on the Key to the record, the Whole Key, and
    nothing but the Key, so help me Codd."