Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Database Design Software???

HI ALL,

i am very very new to all this. I have a general knowledge of SQL and i was wondering which software to use to build the Database surface???

I need the Database allowing data creation and maintenance, and search and other access.

I read about Microsoft ACCES or Microsoft® SQL Server® 2008 R2 Express...

help please

How many persons will be using the database simultaneously?
    Do the users need to access it over the web?
    How large will the database be?
    If it's not practically useful, then it's practically useless.

blindman
    www.chess.com: "sqlblindman"
    www.LobsterShot.blogspot.com

no to sure what you mean by the database surface
    do you mean the actual database itself...
    the tables, queries, views and so on
    or do you mean the front end...
    ...the user interface , how you display data to the user (in Access speak thats the forms, reports and so on)

Access has a default data storage mechanism which can have problems if you have more than 15..30 concurrent users, however you can use an Access front end to talk to server datastores such as SQL Server.

depednign on what you need to do then there are other contenders out there.. if you are on a budget then something like MySQL could be a good choice. a lot depends on what you are trying to do, what sort of budget you've got and so on.
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

Quote Originally Posted by blindman View Post
    How many persons will be using the database simultaneously?
    Do the users need to access it over the web?
    How large will the database be?

I will be the only person that has access to the database and it doesn't has to be accessed over the web,only from the server in house.

The database will be one for Doctors,so it means that the user can search for doctors with different specialities and places. So there will be around 1000 names of doctors........