Unanswered: Not true for "us", right?

Google stumbeled upon this SQL Server Best Practices and a lot of those points are true for all databases.
    But point #2 caught my eye.
    As a former mainframe programmer I got very used to cursors and I always thought they were the "way to go".

Is this evil-cursor thing is typical for MS-SQL (sybase)?

Provided Answers: 12
    Well I think avoiding cursor is still a good recommendation, because I have seen a lot of programs doing something like this
    (pseudo-code)
    Code:
    OPEN CURSOR FOR SELECT ...
    FOR EACH ROW IN CURSOR 
       UPDATE some_table
          WHERE <information_from_row_in_cursor>
    END
    This is going to be slow on every DBMS, and can simply be replaced with a single UPDATE statement.
    The above approach is typical for programmers that do not have experience with relational databases or are being used to processing text files only.

I saw the neccesity of cursor only in external procedures or host language programs which process external(other than DB2 tables) resoruces(typically OS files) with DB2 table(s).
    In other words, all cursors I saw in SQL procedure could be rewritten without using cursor.
    Here are more discussions including advantage of using cursor(not my opinion).
    http://www.dbforums.com/db2/1657406-...procedure.html