Hi all, I'm a new poster here, and while I'm the office whiz with IT and 'Databases' I recognize I'm really a very basic DB admin. I've worked a little in some of the desktop DB's and have decided to grow my skills by building / managing a new database for the office.

At the moment we use Maximizer and it covers many of our basic needs quite well. Contacts, emailing, basic invoicing and contract documents.

I'd like to build something that meets our needs better today, and tomorrow, and have taken a couple of SQL classes to get me started. Now I'm left with way more questions than answers. Not surprising I'm sure. I'll take more classes next term, but I'm hoping to get help here to get me started in the right direction.

--- The more I read what I wrote below, the more I recognize the challenge I've set for myself, and the scope of what I'm asking for here in the forum. Perhaps it's hilarious, if so enjoy!

Currently the bulk of our business offers post secondary training to individuals and businesses. Initially in North America, but now more over seas. This is where we are getting stretched the most administratively.

Ideally, as the project evolves, I'd like to be able to do a few things in particular with this new database or databases. Mainly in-house sales and administration functions, and ongoing contact and update functions ideally via the web. Some remote access for limited functions for an affiliate or contractor.

1. Use the database for regular sales and admin functions at our main office. With improved invoicing and targeted record keeping.

2. Offer limited remote access for what are essentially affiliates/contractors of the business in different countries to some of the above in #1 for their region.

3. Offer various functions online for past and present clients to update contact info and various information about themselves and their services.