Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

(Yet Another) Database Design Help Request

Let me preface this by saying I am neither a programmer/designer nor a student looking for help on an assignment. I am an attorney working for a large law firm who occasionally likes to break away from the practice of law to learn new things. One of my colleagues, knowing my inclinations, asked me if I could "design a user-friendly multi-user database" that would allow his group to ditch the unwieldy excel spreadsheet they are currently using to track property tax appeals. I accepted the challenge, but am finding myself stumped at the normalization phase. The details are as follows:

Each "Client" has one or more "Matters" associated with it.
    Each "Matter" has one or more "Parcels" associated with it.
    Each "Parcel" has one or more "Years" associated with it.
    Each "Appeal" is for a particular "Parcel" for a particular "Year" (which is related to a particular "Matter" that is related to a particular "Client").

Each category has a variety of other information associated with it (e.g. Client_Name, Matter_Attorney, Parcel_County, Year_AssessedValue, etc.).

For example, a particular Client could have two Matters, each Matter could have ten Parcels, and each Parcel could have 3 Years. This results in 60 distinct Appeals that need to be tracked.

The purpose of all of this is to be able to generate reports, by Year, by Parcel, by Matter and by Client not only for internal use (e.g., calendering purposes) but also to provide to the various clients.

I've spent a decent amount of time trying to educate myself about database design and normalization and have taken several stabs at designing the database, but none of them feel "right" to me, so I'm finally giving in and asking for help. I would appreciate any and all thoughts and suggestions.

Here is my most recent attempt:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails erd.JPG  

let's start here --