Unanswered: DB2 database limits

This a curious question more than a practical one - I have little experience with DB2.

As I understand it DB2 has a database and table limit of 512TB. Given that its possible for the larger data storage systems to contain several petabytes now is it possible for a DB2 table to go past the 512TB limit? does partitioning help?

What other limits would start to impose when you get to that level (specifically with DB2)?

You didn't say which version and operating system of DB2 you are using. For DB2 LUW the limits are documented in the Appendix A of the SQL Reference Vol 1.

For DB2 LUW, the maximum size of a table per database partition (DPF, not Table Partitioning) in a large DMS table space (in gigabytes) is 16,384 if you are using a 32K page size.
    Last edited by Marcus_A; 01-24-11 at 09:38.
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

Quote Originally Posted by Marcus_A View Post
    You didn't say which version and operating system of DB2 you are using.
    Any operating system. I assume LUW all force the 512tb (or less) limit? Does z/OS have different limits?

For DB2 LUW the limits are documented in the Appendix A of the SQL Reference Vol 1.

For DB2 LUW, the maximum size of a table per database partition (DPF, not Table Partitioning) in a large DMS table space (in gigabytes) is 16,384 if you are using a 32K page size.
    OK - so a partition can only be 16TB, but how do you say create a 800TB table (with 8000 partitions)?

Quote Originally Posted by chancey View Post
    Any operating system. I assume LUW all force the 512tb (or less) limit? Does z/OS have different limits?
    I don't know anything about a 512 TB limit for a LUW database. I explained the limits per table above, and you can multiply the max number of tables times the table limit to find the database limit.