Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    197

    Unanswered: db2 Archieve log

    Hi ,

    I wanted to restore my DB into another server, in this i have the Backup of the Db and the Archive log files before copying i thought of making the complete transaction finished.

    for which i gave

    [db2inst1@WESSPITM01 TEPSDB]$ db2 force applications all
    DB20000I The FORCE APPLICATION command completed successfully.
    DB21024I This command is asynchronous and may not be effective immediately.

    [db2inst1@WESSPITM01 TEPSDB]$ db2 archive log for db teps
    SQL1493N The application is already connected to an active database.
    [db2inst1@WESSPITM01 TEPSDB]$

    when i see the application

    [db2inst1@WESSPITM01 TEPSDB]$ db2 list applications

    Auth Id Application Appl. Application Id DB # of
    Name Handle Name Agents
    -------- -------------- ---------- -------------------------------------------------------------- -------- -----
    DB2INST1 db2bp 27 *LOCAL.db2inst1.110203064046 TEPS 1


    This was the error i got... any suggestion on this will be appreciated

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650
    Sorry, I am not sure what your question ... Are you concerned that the connection was not terminated after the force ?
    As the command output says, the force command may not be effective immediately and may take a while to force the apps.
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    Anytime I get that error, I just do this to fix it:

    db2 terminate
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    197
    @sathyaram
    you are correct but i want to submit the command to get the logs archived. so how long do i need to wait the force application command

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    197
    @marcus

    db2terminate will disconnect the complete the connection with DB.

    but is it possible to submit any command after the disconnection of DB ??

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650
    Depends on the command ..
    Commands like backup, restore , archive will not work when a connection to the db is active.

    As a rule of thumb, if a command uses name of the database in the command (eg. archive log for db <dbname> ) , then a connection is not required and often, will not work if connected to a db ..

    HTH

    Sathyaram
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •