Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    88

    Unanswered: Unable to drop database

    Hi,
    Please find the attached screen shot. I am just not understanding where the database is being used and if it is really in use why is it not displaying in the list of active database/applications? The database is also not explicitly activated.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,369
    Try "db2 terminate" and then drop.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    88
    Thanks for your reply but I have already taken this step. It is really weird.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,369
    Check that it's not in write suspend. If not, I'd suggest to stop the instance (if possible) and clean-up any remaining processes / IPC resources owned by this instance (kill / ipcrm commands)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    88
    Hi,
    It is not in write suspend mode also and is not possible to stop the instance as there are many other databases running on the same
    $ db2 connect to RELDB6R2
    Database Connection Information
    Database server = DB2/AIX64 9.1.7
    SQL authorization ID = xyz
    Local database alias = RELDB6R2

    $ db2 set write resume for database
    SQL1551N The SET WRITE RESUME command failed because the database is not currently in WRITE SUSPEND state.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,369
    Also, check that it's not in quiesce state (you can use db snapshot to check the status). And check if there are any errors logged in the db2diag.log.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    88
    Hey thanks a lot. This time it worked
    The error code SQL1035 does not talk about this. The script we execute to take offline backup makes sure that database is unquiesced before terminating. I just have no idea how it went into quiesced state

    Anyways, thank you so much

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    9

    Mr

    Try... db2stop force command after use delete database command..

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •