Best Application for a small office intranet-based DB?

Hi all,

I am very new to databases but I have been doing my best.

My goal is to write a database for my real estate appraisal firm that can be accessed from a local intranet by two office workers who will need to view/enter/edit records and by about 10 appraisers who only need to view (query) records.

I would like for all of the data to be stored on my server and the front end to be available over the intranet in a browser (with no additional software installed on my employees computers).

I thought MS Access 2010 would be the answer to my problems so I took the time and learned Access. I built my DB, including forms and queries. It was then that I realized I could not deploy the DB the way I wanted. It wasn't a complete waste of time because it taught me some fundamentals, some SQL, and at the very least I have a map of how I would like my tables and queries to look.

I moved on to what I thought would be the answer to my problems, SQL Server 2008. I've read some about SQL Server and plaed around with the software. I've gone through Train Signals Video on SQL Server and I still don't understand how data is input into the system! Where is the end user interface?

I feel like I'm spinning my wheels, if anyone could point me in the right direction or towards a software that would fulfill my criteria I would really appreciate it. Thanks in advance!

Frank

If you like SQL Server and Access, you can use Access to build all of your forms/reports and store all of your data in SQL Server.
    oh yeah... documentation... I have heard of that.

*** What Do You Want In The MS Access Forum? ***

Thanks Teddy, but using Access for the front end would require all of the client machines to have Access installed, correct? If there was a way to avoid that, I could simply use my Access DB that I have already created.