Thread: Binding tables

Unhappy Unanswered: Binding tables

Hi all!

I'm very new to all this sql, but what a world!

I'm trying to create a webform for a club. This is what I want it to do:
    Register as member
    Add personal details about yourself, such as allergies.

Register for an event and have the database send an automated notification about who has signed up.

I've managed to get the register form and login form to work, but now I want the logged in user to be able to update their personal details, like phone number and address.
    In my world that means that I would have to bind a table (containing the user data) to another table (containing the users log in details) so that just the logged in person can see and edit his/her details.

I'm using Visual Studio 2010.

Please hint me in the right direction.

You will need to provide more information. I assume that you have a login table which contains a loginid and username and password. You also have a separate table containing the personal information. Is this correct? Do you know the loginid of the person you are connecting with? Does you personal information table contains the loginid?
    Ronan Cashell
    Certified Oracle DBA/Certified MySQL Expert (DBA & Cluster DBA)
    http://www.it-iss.com
    Follow me on Twitter

Quote Originally Posted by it-iss.com View Post
    You will need to provide more information. I assume that you have a login table which contains a loginid and username and password. You also have a separate table containing the personal information. Is this correct? Do you know the loginid of the person you are connecting with? Does you personal information table contains the loginid?
    I have built my site with the "all-ready-made" login and register forms, so there is one table holding that information and then I've made a table inside the same database. So you were correct in your assumption
    I don't know the loginId of the person.