Unanswered: VBA and DB2 connection

Hi,

I am very new to Db2 and also VBA to an extent. Could somebody help me out with below request.

I request somebody to help me with a sample code.... Say I have a table in db2...

Name and Employee Id

Now I have the details in Excel.... Say in sheet1.. Column A is Name and Column B is Emp ID

I require a code with which I can make a connection to my database and push the data to my tables in db2....(Probably with some explanation like code breakdown @ important palces)

Please help me with this request.. Thousand thanks in advance....

I am not very sure If I posted in the right place.. My Apologies If I had posted in wrong forum..

Modify the code according to your connection and query.

Code:
    Option Explicit

Dim DBCONSRT, QRYSTR ans As String
    Dim DBCON, DBRS  As Object

Dim excel_app As Object

Private Sub CommandButton1_Click()
        Set excel_app = CreateObject("Excel.Application")
    	DBCONSRT = "Driver={IBM DB2 ODBC DRIVER};Database=<DATABASE NAME>;hostname=<HOSTMACHINENAME>;port=<PORT_NUMBER;protocol=TCPIP; uid=<USER_ID>; pwd=<PASSWORD>"
    	'CHANGE THE BELOW QUERY STRING ACCORDIGN TO YOUR NEED
    	QRYSTR = "select B.TBNAME as tabname,count(B.NAME)as colcount from SYSIBM.SYSTABLES A,SYSIBM.SYSCOLUMNS B WHERE A.NAME=B.TBNAME AND A.CREATOR=B.TBCREATOR AND A.TYPE='T' AND  B.TBCREATOR='<OWNER_NAME>' group by B.TBNAME"
    	Set DBCON = CreateObject("ADODB.Connection")
        DBCON.ConnectionString = DBCONSRT
        DBCON.Open
        'BELOW CODE USED TO GET THE DATABASE CONECTION AND EXECUTE THE QUERY CHANGE ACCORDIGN TO YOUR NEED
        Set DBRS = CreateObject("ADODB.Recordset")
        With DBRS
            .Source = QRYSTR
        Set .ActiveConnection = DBCON
            .Open
        End With

End Sub
    Ritesh Kumar Singh
    IBM Certified DB2 DBA for LUW
    **Knowledge Is Theft If Not Shared !!**

Thank you very much.. this is really helpful... I have couple of other questions