Unanswered: All database in bufferpool, still low performance?

Hello again forummembers.
    Clearly I'm new to db2 when I ask this but I have to anyway. I'm testing parameters in an isolated test environment

We are running x64 db2 9.5 fp7 on 2003 server x64.

So I have a database that's ~4300 Mb in size. All db is put into one buffer pool of 4800mb (1 200 000 x 4 Kb right?).

Still when I perform a select the first select is always a lot slower than the following ones. Shouldn't they be about equally fast since now the whole database fits in memory? It differ about 25%.

I can see in task manager that when i do the first select the I/O Reads increases, but not the following ones. The same applies if I double the buffer pool to 9600 Mb. Also reading from memory is only about 25% faster (varies a lot) than reading from SAN. (SAN is about 600 Mb/sec read in Hdtach) Does that mean we have a really fast SAN or have I done something wrong?

I'm doing the select on a table with about 1.1m rows. I'm evaluating gains from more memory and better hardware.

We are running four quad Opterons 8354. Would dual Intel x5680 perform better? 16 cores 8354 (or 6176) against 12 cores x5680?

Regards

the first select
    of what?
    - any select statement after restarting DB2?
    - any select statement after ...?
    - a specific select statement after ...?
    - first select statement for a table after restarting DB2?

Sorry for being unclear.

I restart DB2, and wait for it to load by watching task manager until there is no more read activity, connects to the database, wait for any read activity to stop (if any) and run a simple select like this
    "select test1, test2, test3 from schema1.table1" and gets about 1.1m rows result.

When I run it the first time it seems it wasn't reading from memory after all since I notice IO activity during the first run of this query. On the following runs there is no read IO activity at all.