Unanswered: connection to another sql server

Hi,

I am wondering about the viability of my project plan, as I am relatively new to SQL. I want to connect to another SQL server and automatically pull a set of data into a table of the SQL server I am connecting from. The connection is already set up, as in I can connect to this other server using the object explorer, I just want to be able to include the connection in an automatic procedure. Does this sound doable? Would I use the SqlConnect function?

As a follow up question, if I am to use the SqlConnect function, how do I determine the connection handle I need to input?

Thanks in advance

Are you planning to connect from a stored procedure, or from a front-end code? I don't recall SQLConnect being a function. Maybe SQLConnection? But that's an object. ...unless you're not talking about .NET...
    "The data in a record depends on the Key to the record, the Whole Key, and
    nothing but the Key, so help me Codd."

Provided Answers: 11
    SqlConnect appears to be a FoxPro function, unless my Google-fu is weak.

Are you dealing with trying to connect FoxPro to SQL Server? Or an application that is trying to connect to two databases in the back?

wow...last summer, when cleaning my guarage, I got rid of some DOS and VMS books, and almost hurt myself with FoxPro 2.0 manual...So he was NOT talking about .NET, which is what I said
    "The data in a record depends on the Key to the record, the Whole Key, and
    nothing but the Key, so help me Codd."

RE: connection to another sql server

Thanks for the replies. I feel like I am sort of out of my league at the moment, as, yes, I just Googled "sql connection", and the SQLConnect function, at least it's definition, seemed to be the most applicable to what I am trying to do. But, I'm not using FoxPro, so it appears I was looking in the wrong place.