Unanswered: Can I set up Access to email response reminders based on a specific date entered?

Hello,

This is my first time posting here so I hope I have read/understood the forum rules sufficiently well. Anyhow, on to the problem.

I am using MS Access 2003 (11.8321.8329) SP3. I am an internal auditor (I know that may limit the number of responses I get right off the bat =) ) and throughout our audits we note and track various findings that have specific completion dates associated with them. Currently we track all findings manually using Excel and email reminders and followups as needed. The problem is that as our list of findings grows, the time required to track and solicit responses is quickly growing to unmanageable levels. What I would like to do is move all of our finding information into an Access database and have Access send out followup emails to process owners when their findings are close to their completion dates. Is this something that Access is capable of handling? And if so, how exactly can I accomplish this?

From what I have read in other threads here, Access is not a system service so it will have to be run daily/weekly/etc. for this type of process to run which I am fine with. But I have not been able to determine from other threads on similar topics whether or not Access can do exactly what I need it to do.

One other piece of information that may be useful to anyone foolish enough to attempt answering my question =) is that we currently use IMB Lotus Notes 8.5. Not sure if this if there may be some kind of compatibility issue between Access/Lotus that may prevent what I am wanting from happening or not.

Thanks in advance,
    Andrew

Provided Answers: 59
    depends on your email client

but Access is perfectly capable of this sort of thing, however depending on your development skills it may be too steep a learning curve and or take too long to implement.