Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    9

    Unanswered: store kannada characters in db2 database

    Hello,

    Could some one let me know how to store kannada characters in db2 database ?

    I am using db2 v9.1 fp10 on windows machine.

    Thanks,
    Pratapd

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    You need use UTF-8 when the database is created. Check the db cfg and see what the value of "Database code set." Once the database is created, it cannot be changed.

    You can search for DBCS (double byte character set) in DB2 for more information.
    Last edited by Marcus_A; 03-17-11 at 14:34.
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    9
    thanks for the quick reply!!
    Yes.. I did create a UTF-8 database.
    But I am unable to copy kannada characters on to my db2 command window for inserting rows into my table.. any idea how to do this on a windows machine ?

    Regards,
    Pratapd

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    335
    Hi,

    what error messages do you get?
    If you create a table with char(10) it can store 10 bytes. UTF-8 Characters may use two or more Bytes. So you may need to create larger textfields.

    Cheers,
    nvk

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Zoetermeer, Holland
    Posts
    746
    described here: Unicode support with DB2

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    ISHHHH
    Posts
    130
    Quote Originally Posted by dr_te_z View Post
    described here: Unicode support with DB2
    nice link learned a lot
    WiTh Tnks & ReGaRdS
    mAtHuKuMaLi

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •