Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    11

    Unanswered: Bufferpool(automatic) and STMM(enabled)!

    Can we set bufferpool to automatic with out enabling STMM, so that the bufferpool size changes based on the load and free memory that is available?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    No, You must enable STMM to have the AUTOMATIC heaps work. You must also have at least two of the heaps set to AUTOMATIC for it to work. It is not generally a good idea to have the bufferpools at AUTOMATIC. A fixed size works good. Set the other heaps to AUTOMATIC.

    Andy

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Zoetermeer, Holland
    Posts
    746
    Quote Originally Posted by ARWinner View Post
    It is not generally a good idea to have the bufferpools at AUTOMATIC. A fixed size works good. Set the other heaps to AUTOMATIC.
    Andy
    This calls for an explanation. I call you.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    335
    Well,

    just a quick example. I setup a new database on a system with 64 GB RAM. The database had a size of roughly 100 MB. There were two bufferpools. 1 for User Data and the IBMDEFAULTBP for system-catalog, Temspace1, ...
    The STMM increased IBMDEFAULTBP to 2 GB since the System had enough free memory at the time. Sometimes the STMM ist too ambitious.

    I'm running most of the databases with STMM, but sometimes i does not work.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Zoetermeer, Holland
    Posts
    746
    Quote Originally Posted by nvk@vhv View Post
    Sometimes the STMM ist too ambitious.
    Ah , you protect the bufferpoolpages from agoraphobia.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    Bufferpools are where DB2 actually works with the data and indexes. If you set them to AUTOMATIC, DB2 will be constantly resizing them trying to get the "optimal" setting. But there is no real optimal setting if they are variable since some other bufferpool or cache will want more memory eventually. Then you have DB2 shrinking or expanding the bufferpools which takes time and will hurt performance. It is better to have DB2 change the sizes of the other caches which are not always being used, but the bufferpools are always used.

    Andy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •