Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    206

    Unanswered: Warning on HADR Standby machine

    Hello guys,

    Whats up? I am running a HADR DB2 Version 9.5 Fixpack 7

    Today I checked the db2diag.log and i noticed a warning that is coming up each 2 hours and i actually dont know what do. Even after using google.

    Does anyone have an idea how i can fix this? thanks in advance.


    2011-03-31-09.26.53.603022+120 I3215344A1145 LEVEL: Warning
    PID : 17563796 TID : 772 PROC : db2acd 0
    INSTANCE: db2inst1 NODE : 000
    EDUID : 772 EDUNAME: db2acd 0
    FUNCTION: DB2 UDB, Health Monitor, HmonMainCB:repDBForFirstPlugin, probe:70
    MESSAGE : Failed to verify and create policy for database "Boing ". rc =
    90000505
    DATA #1 : Hexdump, 136 bytes
    0x00000001105191E8 : 5351 4C43 4120 2020 0000 0088 FFFF FBDC SQLCA ........
    0x00000001105191F8 : 0007 4442 3248 4D4F 4E20 2020 2020 2020 ..DB2HMON
    0x0000000110519208 : 2020 2020 2020 2020 2020 2020 2020 2020
    0x0000000110519218 : 2020 2020 2020 2020 2020 2020 2020 2020
    0x0000000110519228 : 2020 2020 2020 2020 2020 2020 2020 2020
    0x0000000110519238 : 2020 2020 2020 2020 5351 4C45 4C4F 5354 SQLELOST
    0x0000000110519248 : 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 ................
    0x0000000110519258 : 0000 0000 0000 0000 2020 2020 2020 2020 ........
    0x0000000110519268 : 2020 2030 3830 3034

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650
    Disable Health Monitor on both primary and standby

    update dbm cfg using health_mon off
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    206
    Ok I am going to try that.
    Thank you!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    62
    It also happens on a DB2 without HADR here.

    My question is, could disabling Health Monitor cause some kind of lose of control, like running out of space, or even memory?

    thanks

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650
    Quote Originally Posted by zevang View Post
    It also happens on a DB2 without HADR here.

    My question is, could disabling Health Monitor cause some kind of lose of control, like running out of space, or even memory?

    thanks

    You will not hit on memory or disk space errors if you disable health monitor.

    But, you have to monitor memory and disk using other tools if you need a warning



    Cheers
    Sathyaram
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    Quote Originally Posted by zevang View Post
    It also happens on a DB2 without HADR here.

    My question is, could disabling Health Monitor cause some kind of lose of control, like running out of space, or even memory?

    thanks
    The DB2 Health Monitor has been depricated and will be removed in a future release. It almost always causes more problems then it solves.
    Last edited by Marcus_A; 02-14-12 at 17:10.
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    62
    Marcus and Sathyaram_s,

    Good to know such pearls. Really make our path easier.

    thanks a lot

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    62
    Now there is this message. The Health Monitor was already OFF as shows cfg below. Does this message mean that the HMon is still running? Do I need to restart the server for this to take effect?


    2012-02-16-03.01.31.474000-120 I1938267F1133 LEVEL: Warning
    PID : 9956 TID : 10700 PROC : db2fmp64.exe
    INSTANCE: DB2 NODE : 000
    EDUID : 10700
    FUNCTION: DB2 UDB, Health Monitor, HmonMainCB:repDBForFirstPlugin, probe:70
    MESSAGE : Failed to verify and create policy for database "TOOLSDB ". rc =
    90000505
    DATA #1 : Hexdump, 136 bytes
    0x000000000854E940 : 5351 4C43 4120 2020 8800 0000 DCFB FFFF SQLCA ........
    0x000000000854E950 : 0700 4442 3248 4D4F 4E20 2020 2020 2020 ..DB2HMON
    0x000000000854E960 : 2020 2020 2020 2020 2020 2020 2020 2020
    0x000000000854E970 : 2020 2020 2020 2020 2020 2020 2020 2020
    0x000000000854E980 : 2020 2020 2020 2020 2020 2020 2020 2020
    0x000000000854E990 : 2020 2020 2020 2020 5351 4C45 4C4F 5354 SQLELOST
    0x000000000854E9A0 : 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 ................
    0x000000000854E9B0 : 0000 0000 0000 0000 2020 2020 2020 2020 ........
    0x000000000854E9C0 : 2020 2030 3830 3034 08004

    Default database monitor switches
    Buffer pool (DFT_MON_BUFPOOL) = OFF
    Lock (DFT_MON_LOCK) = OFF
    Sort (DFT_MON_SORT) = OFF
    Statement (DFT_MON_STMT) = OFF
    Table (DFT_MON_TABLE) = OFF
    Timestamp (DFT_MON_TIMESTAMP) = ON
    Unit of work (DFT_MON_UOW) = OFF
    Monitor health of instance and databases (HEALTH_MON) = OFF


    thanks again

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    Yes, you need to restart the instance.
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    62
    Thanks Marcus.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    62
    I discovered that there is also a 'show detail' option to the 'get dbm cfg' command, as there is for the 'get db cfg for...'

    The prior step required is 'attach to <instance>' so it can work.

    At the list I've got I could see that the HEALTH_MON parameter has two different values, the current 'ON' and the new one 'OFF' that will be applied after I restart the server.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •