Unanswered: how to check if picklist is used in other teble

Hi,

I am new to SQL. I have PicklistGroup table and PicklistDetails table.
    PicklistGroupID & PicklistDetailsID are used as foreign key in other tables.

I want to write a stored procedure to check if PicklistGroupID & PicklistDetailsID is used in any other table or not. So that i will not allow user to delete it.

Please help with this stored procedure.
    Thanks
    Amit

Quote Originally Posted by amit_n View Post
    So that i will not allow user to delete it.
    good news: you don't have to do anything, especially not write a stored procedure

preventing deletion of a row if there is a dependent foreign key is a built-in feature of foreign keys

all you have to do is declare ON DELETE NO ACTION when defining the foreign key

vwalah!

rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

Provided Answers: 4
    You shouldn't check for any dependencies yourself. Let SQL Server do that for you. You must first tell SQL Server what references exist within your database, by defining a foreign key on those columns.

This is the way how you define a Foreign Key, when the table Mytable has a column with name PicklistDetailsId that references a record in the table PicklistDetails with primary key Id. You will have to do that for all the tables that reference another table.
    Code:
    alter table dbo.MyTable
       add constraint MyTable_PicklistDetails foreign key (PicklistDetailsId)
          references dbo.PicklistDetails (Id)
    In your code you can check for the specific error code that you get back from SQL Server when you try to delete a record from the picklist table that is already referenced to by a record in any other table.
    Last edited by Wim; 03-31-11 at 09:59. Reason: Didn't saw r937 alredy answered it.
    With kind regards . . . . . SQL Server 2000/2005/2012
    Wim

Grabel's Law: 2 is not equal to 3 -- not even for very large values of 2.