Database Design Think Tank

Greetings Everyone,

Recently I started playing starcraft 2, I joined a clan and thought that a simple database could help but I am fairly inexperienced with the process. I wanted to post here and see if the community could help me to reach my goal. If possible I would like the database to be scalable since it supports multiple games but I wanted to start with one and see how it went.

I want this database to contain some information regarding members and their gaming preferences/skill levels. I want users to be able to query the database and create a member profile for themselves, which can be edited(unsure about the feasibility).

Function: Allow Members and/or Organizers to have data available to them to setup (practices/tournaments/competition) based on information about members of my clan

Brainstorming:

Entities - Member, Game, Game_Mode, Game_ModeRank, Race

Fields -

Member - Handle(PK), Join_Date, Gamer_Type, Platform
    Game - Title(PK), Genre, Platform
    Game_Mode - (Unsure Modes Include 1v1, 2v2, 3v3, 4v4, Coop, and FFA)
    Game_ModeRank - Rank(PK) (Bronze, Silver, Gold, Platinum, Diamond, Master, and Grandmaster)
    Race - (unsure choices include Terran, Zerg, Protoss, and Random or any combination)

** for Game_Mode I want users to also mention if they are casual or competitive in each catagory. Would I just make 2 of each or another entity?

I know that if I want it to work alot of more needs to be done. I will post more as I make changes. Thanks!
    Last edited by jasonk1229; 04-04-11 at 19:47.

This is a slippery slope and can get very complicated, very quickly. I'd say before you start brainstorming about design, nail down the functional requirements you would like the design to handle. You listed a couple... flesh them out and figure out exactly what you'd like to be able to get out of the database, THEN figure out what needs to go in.