Thread: New member

Thumbs up New member

Hi all,

I am new to the database world, and I am happy to find this site!
    I am currently an IT/CIS student and had the opportunity to take some database coursework and loved it. I even plan on going to grad school to get some more hands on experience in this area. I can model a database using ER diagrams, and I have Access SQL experience, but I don't believe I scratched the surface yet I also work with smaller excel and access databases at my university, which is allowing me to become more familiar with data collection/manipulation. I was wondering if anyone could recommend good reading materials for someone just breaking into databases? I also understand that Oracle and Microsoft SQL are the two most popular systems right now. Unfortunately I only have enough time to become proficient in one of these systems. Are there any objections to becoming proficient in Microsoft SQL? Also, are there any programming languages I should become familiar with that will aid me in the database career world? I know basic java, javascript, and visual basic at the moment, not sure if these have any application or not.

Any advice or information is greatly appreciated!

- Josh

It all depends on what you want to do where you think you will go
    if you want to stay purely in the db world there's various roles including analyst, developer and so on, there's also the db specific role of Data Base Administrator.

languages you would neeed to learn if you want to be a developer.