Unanswered: Basketball Tournament.

Note: I am a beginner with databases and i really need your help people. Thank you in advance.

Reason why i am creating a database is to complete my project on VB.

This project will be used by students which are the players in the player table and admin which is in staff table. Hence the username and password is added in attributes, for them to log in into the tournament.

The issue i am facing today is: lack of attributes, dont know how to set E-R diagrams(main problem) nor foreign keys. And if you spot any other errors (e.g. in the tables or what so ever), please please tell.

Tables and their attributes:

Player Table (player ID, first name, surname,DOB, position, contact number,e-mail, username, password)

Staff Table (staff ID , first name, surname, contact number,e-mail, username, password)

Team Table (team ID, team name)

Game Table (game ID, game date)

Game Statistics Table (game statistics ID, points scored, field points, three points, free throws, personal fouls, blocks, steals, turovers, rebounds, minutes played)

Sorry for my bad English language skills.

Provided Answers: 7
    MY thinking would be

what Player does the team play in so Playerid should be in the Team Table there that join

what Games which teams playing so teamIDX2 should be in the game table there an other join
    also in the game table I would put the ScoresX2
    so you now who vs who and there Scores

what Statistic Playerid in the Statistics table and and the other join

so with a bit of joining You be able to look at the Stats and get the Team

I would put the staffID in the Statistic then you now who did what

a check could be sum of the Score in the Statistics table should = the Score in the Game table This would be a audit check only
    Last edited by myle; 04-19-11 at 09:11. Reason: spelling
    hope this help

See clear as mud

StePhan McKillen
    the aim is store once, not store multiple times
    Remember... Optimize 'til you die!