Unanswered: Creating a new View combing columns

Dear all,

I'm fairly new to SQL.

I have created a new view (nominal_narratives), which contains three columns (dbo.nominal_narratives.narr, dbo.nominal_narratives.nt_seqnum and dbo.nominal_narratives.nt_accode).

Within my database I also have a table (axxia01.dbo.nmnomtrn) which contains the following columns (axxia01.dbo.nmnomtrn.nt_addesc, axxia01.dbo.nmnomtrn.nt_trdesc and axxia01.dbo.nmnomtrn.nt_seqnum).

What I have been struggling to do is create a new View which needs to combine the 'narr' column in the nominal_narratives table with the 'nt_trdesc' column in the axxia01.dbo.nmnomtrn table. Both these columns are text and are linked by the 'nt_seqnum' columns in both tables.

The problem I have faced is that some transactions have a seqnum in the axxia01.dbo.nmnomtrn table but not in the nominal_narratives View. This is highlighted by the axxia01.dbo.nmnomtrn.nt_addesc column which contains Y (for yes) and N (for no) and this indicates whether or not there is additional text in dbo.nominal_narratives.narr.

All transactions will have a seqnum in axxia01.dbo.nmnomtrn.nt_seqnum and text in axxia01.dbo.nmnomtrn.nt_trdesc but many will also have a matching seqnum in dbo.nominal_narratives.nt_seqnum along with text in dbo.nominal_narratives.narr where axxia01.dbo.nmnomtrn.nt_addesc column = 'Y'.

When combining the two tables myself I have found that if the axxia01.dbo.nmnomtrn.nt_addesc column = N then the data is excluded all together when joining the axxia01.dbo.nmnomtrn.nt_trdesc and dbo.nominal_narratives.narr columns.

In very basic terms (I told you I was new to SQL!) I think I need a statement which does the following: