Unanswered: Filtering Report By Numeric Value

Hi, need your help again. I am trying to create a button on my form which will open a filtered report. I have already created the report and totals have been created for individual customers (who have their unique ID). The total is in my ID Footer section (report design view). I want the report to permanently show the customers whose totals are 3600 (and they are eligible for a surprise gift). The rest will be filtered out until they meet the criteria. I have tried the following but there is something wrong.

Private Sub Command26_Click()
    DoCmd.OpenReport "EliParameterReport", acViewPreview, "[Sum_Of_Purchases] = " & 3600
    End Sub

"Sum_Of_Purchases" is the Total field

Like I said I am still a novice. Thank you in advance

Provided Answers: 6
    I think you have it in the wrong position, and you don't need to concatenate a static value. Try

DoCmd.OpenReport "EliParameterReport", acViewPreview, , "[Sum_Of_Purchases] = 3600"
    Paul

Question

Thank you for the quick reply. I live in the Eastern Hemisphere. When I started this thread, it was 4.30 a.m. I just went to sleep after that.

OK, I tried what you posted and a parameter box pops up and asks for Sum_Of_Purchases. Whether I enter anything or not, the report displays 0 results. It could be one of two problems (I think).

1.) Is it because the control is an unbound text box?
    2.) Or is it because the control in situated in the ID Footer section (grouped
    by in the report).

When I change to a bound text box in the detail section, it works! (Unfortunately that is not what I want) The query that I base the report on is made up of 3 queries. The end result is working fine when I open the report on its own.

Thank you......

(wow, now I can put a lot of dots.....)

For that method to work, Sum_Of_Purchases has to be a field in the report's source table/query. Can the calculation be moved to there?
    Paul

Thumbs up