Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    27

    Unanswered: TNS Problem; Error ORA-12560

    Hi,

    i'm not able to connect to ab Ora-Db in the console (Linux&Win). Tnsping is succsesfull:
    Code:
    $ tnsping pnl
    
    TNS Ping Utility for HPUX: Version 10.2.0.4.0 - Production on 18-MAY-2011 10:09:57
    
    Copyright (c) 1997,  2007, Oracle.  All rights reserved.
    
    Used parameter files:
    
    
    Used TNSNAMES adapter to resolve the alias
    Attempting to contact (DESCRIPTION= (ADDRESS_LIST=(ADDRESS=(PROTOCOL=TCP)(HOST=XYZ)(PORT=33002))) (CONNECT_DATA=(SERVICE_NAME=PNL)))
    OK (0 msec)
    $
    Next is:
    Code:
    $ export SQLPATH=/opt/oracle/product/102_cl_64_b/cl/
    $ export ORACLE_SID=PNL
    $ export PATH=$ORACLE_HOME/bin:$PATH
    $ $ORACLE_HOME/bin/sqlplus
    
    SQL*Plus: Release 10.2.0.4.0 - Production on Wed May 18 10:12:54 2011
    
    Copyright (c) 1982, 2007, Oracle.  All Rights Reserved.
    
    Enter user-name: MY_DB_USER
    Enter password:
    ERROR:
    ORA-12545: Connect failed because target host or object does not exist
    
    
    Enter user-name:
    ERROR:
    ORA-12545: Connect failed because target host or object does not exist
    
    
    Enter user-name:
    The Credentials are working in a self build GUI-DB tool, so they should be ok.

    Thanx

    Roland

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Croatia, Europe
    Posts
    4,094
    Provided Answers: 4
    Where did you find ORA-12560? Your output suggests that it is ORA-12545:
    Quote Originally Posted by Oracle
    ORA-12545: Connect failed because target host or object does not exist

    Cause: The address specified is not valid, or the program being connected to does not exist.

    Action: Ensure the ADDRESS parameters have been entered correctly; the most likely incorrect parameter is the node name. Ensure that the executable for the server exists (perhaps "oracle" is missing.) If the protocol is TCP/IP, edit the TNSNAMES.ORA file to change the host name to a numeric IP address and try again.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    27
    ups, typo sorry

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    27
    Hi,

    if i use
    Code:
    $ORACLE_HOME/bin/sqlplus MY_DB_USER/MY_DB_PWD@PNL
    everything is fine, but how can i connect without providing username and password on the commandline? I dont want to have thoose data stored in the command history, i want to be asked interactivly by oracle.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Croatia, Europe
    Posts
    4,094
    Provided Answers: 4
    Did you try (when prompted for username, which would be "Enter user-name" in your first message) to provide "MY-DB_USER@PNL" (i.e. include database alias)?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    27
    Bingo, that's the solution!

    Thanx

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •