Talking Unanswered: Remote DB2 connection from home

Hello!
    I'm a statistician trying to do some consulting for a small company and I need to get into their system from my home. They have a iSeries Power 6 520 running i5 OS version V5R4M0 and all of the applications on this server store the data in a DB2 database.

So I am trying to connect to this system from home and pull data using R. I have an IP address and login information and I am wondering what else I need to accomplish this?

Do I need DSN information? Do I need to VPN in and do I need to install DB2 driver on my windows machine? You don't need to answer about R. I just need to know how I get "in" and see their db tables :-)

I am still learning all of the new acronyms and definitions on the IT side and how they relate so please help explain the process - thank you so much in advance!

You need to discuss with the company you are doing consulting for. You will probably need a VPN to get into their network, and then some Windows tools to access their database. The company would be in a better position to help you than any of us.

BTW, DB2 iSeries is a different product than DB2 Linux, Unix, Windows or DB2 z/OS.
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

Talking Slight problem :)

Thank you so much for responding so quickly!

The problem is that it's not a big company and their DBA is on vacation for a while. It doesn't seem like anyone else knows the details of getting in. Should I ask for DSN information? I can VPN using the IP and login info I have but I need the DSN information to connect to the DB right?

I'm out of my SME right now...

Provided Answers: 1