Unanswered: Help - where do i start?

I am completely new to databases and am attempting what seems to me a mammoth mission. I wish to create a database to:

- show a number of recipes and their ingredients
    - list the ingredients from 4 different suppliers
    - quantify how much of each ingredient should be ordered for varying group sizes
    - show the orders to be placed from 4 different suppliers

Am I taking something a little too big on or is this something I can do?

Ideas and thoughts would be much appreciated, thanks in advance.

Provided Answers: 1
    Lets start by establishing your terminology...

" I wish to create a database to: "

NO - You want to create an APPLICATION which uses a database (or individual data tables).

The APPLICATION allows users to do things with the data from the database tables (or non-contained data tables) such as Enter, Modify, Read, Report on..., etc.

The DATABASE is where the data 'lives'. Sometimes this is a container holding and managing any number of individual data tables. Other times this is not a 'database' at all, but just a bunch of 'free' (non-contained) data tables - depending on the language used.

If you are totally new to software development, the project you are defining is not a small challenge.

You might find off-the-shelf applications by doing a Google search for:
    recipe application
    recipe software

If you want to use this as a learning opportunity, great.

Start by breaking the project down to a few very simple small tasks and doing the development on those, then over time merge the individual tasks into an over-all application.

The language that you use may or may-not be independent from the 'database', since a few 'databases' such as SQL Server, etc. have no tools by themselves to build the application, they are the SERVER which manages the data. The front-end application is where the users work and it may be in a language all its own.