Preliminary Research - Search Engine DB Design

This is my first post in this forum but I look forward to becoming an active member as I explore the world of databases. I'm a web developer and have experience building databases for simple websites. I've decided I want to work on a personal project to enhance my understanding of databases and database design. I plan to create a website search engine which can search/crawl a website.

It has become obvious to me that one of the most important factors in creating an efficient search engine is a well-designed database. I'm interested in doing some reading (books/papers/tutorials) on databases specific to search engines. However, searching the web I've not been able to find much research.

My question to the members of this forum are:
    Do you know of any good research that has been done on the subject of search engine databases? If not, what are some important concepts I should research that are essential to developing a solid search engine database.

The search engine I plan to develop should scale from a small website to a large website. It is not intended to be a 'google-like' search engine which scours the web. This is intended to be an internal website search engine.

I appreciate any advise you might be able to offer. Thanks!

It would seem that researching googl's, bing's, and yahoo's search engine database designs would still be a good start, even if you are not planning on replicating that same project scale.
    If it's not practically useful, then it's practically useless.

blindman "sqlblindman"

In front of the computer
    Searching is one of the "holy grail" topics in computing. There is always a lot of research being done on the subject, and I don't know of anything that approaches a "Unified Field Theory" for computer searching. There are several hotbeds of search research going on right now, each of which has specific features/benefits/restrictions.