Unanswered: Linking Equations in Queries to Combo Boxes

Hi All-

I am new at Microsoft Access and my internship currently has taken a turn to include database management, of which I have limited experience. The project I am currently working on hopes to have a main form (or report im not picky) with subforms and queries that it calls upon to populate the corresponding fields. More specifically we are creating a Pavement Management database for a municipality which will be able to rate sections of roads for a pavement schedule through mathematical equations. I will have a list of criteria that I will be collecting in the field and each value (i.e. low, medium, high) corresponds to a numerical value which can be chosen by a combo box. This chosen numerical field will then, hopefully, be added to an mathematical equation to generate an index value. Is this possible? If so what is the best way to approach this issue?

I have already created a form that is populated with equations in text boxes that call upon the combo box selection and works beautifully, but I have since read that all equations should be housed in a separate location and called upon via queries.

I have attached the form I mentioned above that is working, with all of the math and selection within one form. I would like to replicate this using a separate query that can be called upon to populate the fields with numerical indice values. Thanks in advance for help.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails AccessForm.jpg  
    Last edited by natemietk; 06-06-11 at 11:27.

Provided Answers: 1

Possibilities

The easiest way is to calculate the fields within the query:

aCalculatedFireld: [field] + [field2] + [field3]....

You can probably also create functions in the module, and call them from the query (or the form/report; take your choice).

Praxis-