Unanswered: Advice on developing application

I'm new to VB.net and am looking for some advice. To start with I need to develop something that I can import 3 different csv files into and then once I've created a query then return my results in a datagrid view. I'm not sure where to start with how I can create the form to be able to select the csv files and then import into an access mdb. I have to use this as we don't have SQL Server and can't do it all in Access as we don't have licences for that either (only certain people have it)

1.How could I create a form in VB.net to be able select the csv files
    2.would it be best to import directly into mdb or show in VB first
    3. Once imported how can I return a dataset from access into a VB datagridview?

Has anyone any ideas of how I can approach this?

1. sr = New StreamReader (This allows you to select the files)
    2. Just populate a collection then use it how you want.
    3. Once you add the dataset just bind to the data. (easiest way is drag and drop your table into the form, are you using Visual Web Developer?) Then mod for your exact use.

Not sure exactly what you want to do. No database just flat csv?

Not sure exactly what you are trying to achieve here. Do you want to keep the imported contents of the files in memory?? and query that??

Assuming this is what you are after....

You should be able to use the ReadAllLines method to pull in this data, google on that and you should get some good starters.

If you create an in memory DataTable (google for examples) you could then process each line of your file and convert it into a row in the table.

Once all your rows are in the table you should be able to use the Select method on the DataTable to bring back a collection of rows (or you might need to use a DataView) which you can bind to your DataGrid.

Thanks for the replies...