Unanswered: Does one NOT always see tables Java uses in PACKAGEDEP?

I'm a DB2 UDB DBA in a place where I've been looking at the production database. I was looking to see which packages (SYSCAT.PACKAGEDEP), stored procedures (ROUTINEDEP) or functions (FUNCDEP) are using our tables. Usually you'd see any DB2 object and its schema represented in PACKAGEDEP under the columns BNAME and BSCHEMA. However, not only am I not seeing any tables in our database that are referenced in PACKAGEDEP, but not in ROUTINEDEP or FUNCDEP either.

Is there some weird way DB2 UDB can be set up with Java so that you'd never see a reference to any of the tables a package, stored procedure, or function uses in the system catalog? I'd thought binding the package was required, and if a package accessed 17 tables, you'd see 17 rows for the package, maybe more if you look at indexes, but I'm not seeing ANY rows for our tables. This is a PRODUCTION database, not some flaky dev database where no one has done the binds yet.

I am not sure I understand your question. However, if you are talking about java applicaiton programs, they use dynamic SQL and the packages are not stored in the catalog for those.
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

First, thanks for your help thus far, but if you're right....

.....and EVERYTHING in a typical JDBC non-SQLJ Java shop is going to be dynamic SQL and thus not stored in PACKAGEDEP, and if they're also unfortunately NOT using Stored Procedures and functions, how would one trace the usage of tables or other DB2 LUW objects in terms of usage? Perhaps this becomes more of a Java question, but it appears that, even if the SQL is being ISSUED from a Java program, you're saying that unlike, say, COBOL on z/OS, that there's no way from a database DBA level to trace usage. Is there some way of tracing usage that a Java architect would know?

Provided Answers: 1