Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: Help need with backup script (Shell or SQL)

OS - Ubuntu 10.04.02
    DB2 ver - 9.7.02
    Fix Pack - 2

Hello All -

I am fairly new to db2 and need assistance with creating a script to backup a db then restore it to another instance nightly so both db's match. In trying to figure out the best way to do this I want to create a script that will backup then restore so I started working ont he backup process. Within IBM Data Studio, I can execute a backup successfully. However if I take the command and either put it in a shell or sql script and run it on the target machine I get errors.

Command given from IBM Data Studio:

CONNECT RESET;
    QUIESCE DATABASE IMMEDIATE FORCE CONNECTIONS;
    DEACTIVATE DATABASE VCF;
    BACKUP DATABASE VCF TO "/home/db2inst1/db2bak" COMPRESS EXCLUDE LOGS WITHOUT PROMPTING ;
    UNQUIESCE DATABASE;
    CONNECT TO VCF;

When the above command is ran from IBM Studio, it runs perfectly, however when I take that command and export it as a .sql script and run it from the target machine I get the following error:

DB21034E The command was processed as an SQL statement because it was not a valid Command Line Processor command. During SQL processing it returnedQL1024N A database connection does not exist. SQLSTATE=08003

Thinking that there isn't a connection string in the script to connect to the database, I issued a db2 connect to vcf then ran the .sql script once again.
    Now I got the following error:

SQL0104N An unexpected token "END-OF-STATEMENT" was found following
    "export.sql". Expected tokens may include: "JOIN <joined_table>".
    SQLSTATE=42601

So having no luck that route, I decide to try a shell script.

db2 connect reset;
    db2 QUIESCE DATABASE IMMEDIATE FORCE CONNECTIONS;
    db2 DEACTIVATE DATABASE VCF;
    db2 BACKUP DATABASE VCF TO "/home/sysadmin/db2backup"COMPRESS EXCLUDE LOGS WITHOUT PROMPTING;
    db2 UNQUIESCE DATABASE;
    db2 CONNECT TO VCF;