Unanswered: newbie needing help

greetings,
    I am a cost accountant , using an inhouse (i think) developed operating system called Embrace , i want to desperately write macros for easy download of info, but cannot get the string of VB code to input in excel vb to start downloading data, i have no idea of how to get the ServerName, Address etc.....
    I know it can be done has i connected to AS400 database in my previous job and it made my job extremely easy, ........in this new environment , getting this connection will completely change the way things are done here.......
    tons of maual work and printing reading, re-typeing etc etc...........any help in getting started will be much appreciated!

Plse forgive me if i posted this in incorrect forum

cheers

Where exactly is this data coming from? What sort of database? Or when you say download do you mean your are grabbing is from the web??

If you can give us some more detailed information we can probably help.

more info

Thx for reply, ok i am using a Legacy system called Embrace, i want to retrive the "Bill of Material" file and the stock master file from the db into excel via vb code, later i would like to retrieve GL info aswell, we are migrating to JD edwards soon, so downloading data to excel makes "housekeeping" easier

thx in advance

He needs to know the exact type of database you are using. Oracle, SQL, Mysql etc...

Provided Answers: 59
    right now I'd suggest you need to find ouyt more about 'embrace'. there is a MRP package that hails from South Africa
    Associated Computer Solutions ACS-Embrace Manufacturing
    there is a UK consultancy

but if its written in house then you need to talk to your inhouse systems people to find out more about 'embrace'
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

Thx for reply,to get the following data