Post Need a new db system for an old programmer

Hello all, thanks in advance for reading this. It might be a lengthy read, so close your door...

I've been a programmer since the mid-80's for systems called I R I S - Interactive Real-time Information System (ver. 7.3, mind you), it ran on a computer known as the Point 4 Mark V. This was designed in the 70's for people to "share" computing time on bigger systems, and get billed for the time they used. The IRIS system used the Business Basic programming language, fairly easy to grasp, and incredibly flexible. I could build files, manipulate data, create reports (on old line printers), and do lots of good things. Drawbacks were probably just a text interface, and LONG menus of options for the user.

When those systems were going by the wayside in the 90's, a company in Minnesota developed a shell for Unix that you could port the system over to, so folks never had to dump it completely and start all over. Since my job was for a municipality, there was never any funding to look into anything else, and since this system ran everything - payroll, utilities, finance, etc. - no one even wanted to try. So we ported the system over to SCO Openserver and have been there ever since.

Well, here we are, 2011, and these young thunder cats want something with a GUI interface and immediate drill-down capability - you know, MODERN things. I personally am fine with that, I'm only in my early 50's, and love to learn. However, I have no budget and very little time to learn, and I certainly can't go away for training. At home I have played around with MS Access and have a good understanding of it and it's reporting capabilities. We just purchased a system that runs on the Progress DB, so I've learned how to access the data via ODBC in Excel or Access, and to put reports together in Crystal Reports. This has satisfied those that wanted something more, but I find that I am incapable of getting out the data that they ask for.