Question Unanswered: Query for contiguous records with a particular condition set???

I am a total beginner with MS Access 2003 and all suggestions are gratefully recieve. I have a table that looks like this: -

[Record Number, INT (PK)] [IP Address varchar(50)] [AssignedYes/No]
    1 10.10.1.0 Y
    2 10.10.1.1 Y
    3 10.10.1.2 N
    4 10.10.1.3 N
    5 10.10.1.4 N
    6 10.10.1.5 N
    7 10.10.1.6 N
    8 10.10.1.7 N
    9 10.10.1.8 N
    10 10.10.1.9 N
    11 10.10.1.10 N
    12 10.10.1.11 N

In this table I have around 60,000 records. The table lists all of my IP addresses in order. I would like advice, if it's possible
    to create a query that can search through this table for a set number of free contiguous addresses that have not been assigned.

So If I need a set of 6 free addresses, I would like to be able to search the table for 8 (6 hosts+1 subnet+1 broadcast) Unassigned contiguous addresses/records.

That's the first part to the challenge, the second is that the search would actually have to start it's checks in blocks of 8 too so that the subnet will actually work when someone tries to use them.
    In the example above, there are 8 free addresses but I cannot use them for a subnet of 8. I would need the query to try searching from 0 for 8, then jump to record 9 and look for 8 and keep jumping til it finds 8 contiguous records starting from one of the records that are a multiple of 8.

I hope this makes sense to someone that can help.

PS. Sorry about the dreadful formatting of the columns.

Why can't you simply open it as an opentable, and do a ".Move 8" every time it comes up against a 'Y'? BTW, I hope you have it indexed on the PK.

Sam

Sam,

Thanks for the reply. I am not sure what you mean by use an opentable and do a ".move 8" each time it comes across a Y. Databases aren't really my area, in fact this is the first time I have created one in about 10 years.

I did index the PK with no duplicates.

Provided Answers: 2