Smile Unanswered: Database on Server

Hi,
    I am fairly new to this, so I would like to know a couple of things:

How do I get a server? Like one just for me and my work?
    How do I put a secure database on it?
    How do I connect it to my computer, so when a message is sent to my server it is automatically downloaded onto a database on my computer?

Provided Answers: 54
    Quote Originally Posted by Anna-SH View Post
    How do I get a server? Like one just for me and my work?
    SQL Server is a program that provides database services to other programs. The machine that runs software like SQL Server is also often called a "Server" since it provides the hardware that runs the programs that serve other programs. Please re-phrase your questions, I am not sure what you are asking.

How do I put a secure database on it?
    Please explain what you mean by a "secure database". By default, SQL Server keeps databases as secure as you keep your server itself. You decide how secure you want or need to keep things.

How do I connect it to my computer, so when a message is sent to my server it is automatically downloaded onto a database on my computer?
    Can you explain what you mean by this a bit? I don't understand the question.

-PatP
    In theory, theory and practice are identical. In practice, theory and practice are unrelated.

SQL Server is a program that provides database services to other programs. The machine that runs software like SQL Server is also often called a "Server" since it provides the hardware that runs the programs that serve other programs. Please re-phrase your questions, I am not sure what you are asking.
    I mean is it possible to get server urls like http://1234.me.com , so when information like emails or messages from mobile phones are sent to the server it is stored on an online database.