Unanswered: Database for retrospective analysis of medical data (noob alert!)

Hi Guys!

I've been tasked with mocking up a system with which we can analyse some medical data - Basically what we have is a small patient cohort (~500), in which each patient has been screened for a group of medical conditions. The tests for some of the conditions can contain multiple different results - rather than just a single numerical value (others are just individual numerical values). What we want is to have this data in a database, and then be able to query for patients above test thresholds for a particular condition etc...

I have very little experience with Access - I'm only just beginning to look into how Im going to go about this, but was looking for some thoughts on the general direction Im thinking in ---- i.e. whether Im completely off target or not

Based on my couple of hours of Access research this is the general approach I was thinking;

table1 - patient details:

patientID (primary key), firstname, lastname, DOB, sex, countryofbirth, etc...

table2 - condition1:

condition1reportID (primary key), patientID, date, testvalue1, testvalue2, etc....

table3 - condition2:

condition2reportID (primary key), patientID, date, testvalue

etc etc...

What I'm unsure about is this - Most of the tests, e.g. condition2 above, are only performed once. However, some require consecutive test results for a positive diagnosis - lets say for example, a certain numerical value on two testing dates spread a year apart.... what is the best way to deal with follow up tests like this?

I was thinking of some options

a) using two tables - lets say condition1first and condition1second.

Then we could, say, query the patient table, condition1first and condition1second, and look for patients with both testvalue1 > some threshold value