Question Unanswered: Filter dates -> change frequency

Hi everyone,

I am new to SQL. I have a table containing one date field and one value field. I have daily entries i.e. every day I have a new date and a new value except for weekends. Now I am trying to run a query to change the frequency of the data to monthly for example. This means filtering the table in order to only keep all the end of month dates or more generally the last entry of each month (if the end of month is a weekend select the last date in the month).

I tried using dateadd and datediff but this returns me the end of month and for only one date that is I don't get more than one date.

Is this something MS Access SQL can deal with? Do you guys have any ideas how my SQL query should look like?

Thanks for reading

manu

Provided Answers: 14
    Here's a solution for finding the last entry of each month:
    Code:
    SELECT Max(Tbl_SomeTable.SomeDate) AS MaxOfSomeDate
    FROM Tbl_SomeTable
    GROUP BY DatePart("yyyy",[SomeDate]) & DatePart("m",[SomeDate]);
    Have a nice day!

Hi Sinndho,

Thank you very much, it helps a lot! It works very well except that it also gets the last date in the table which is not an end of month. Would you have an idea to exclude the last month of the current year so that I only get last entry of each month?

I tried to convert your query in order to transform the daily entries into a weekly frequency i.e. get the last entry of each week. So far the query does not do what i want. is it possible to do something like that in SQL?

++

Hi everyone,

I somehow progresses a bit and am now able to achieve what I want. I am running a subquery which returns what I want but which is extremly slow. I am pretty sure this simple query can be optimized big time with trying to avoid subqueries.

does anyone has an idea?

SELECT *
    FROM TS
    WHERE TS.Date IN (

SELECT Max(TS.Date)
    FROM TS
    GROUP BY DatePart("yyyy",TS.Date) & DatePart("m",TS.Date))