Question Unanswered: Find Missing Number fron Random List

Hi,

I have a schedule for shifts, and the teams are assigned these numbers:

I need to display in a cell (or list of cells) which team has not been scheduled that day. My spreadsheet is set up as a workshift calendar (with 50+ possible assignments aka rows), so I am thinking a formula would be best so that I could copy it over for each day of the week. Can anyone help? The first range of cells that would need to be searched would be B4:B64, with results of missing search displayed in B65(through B75 if need be).

Hi,

This is possible with formulas, but it's not an efficient way to do it. Your best bet is to write a small VBA procedure which will calculate the missing values and put them into the relevant range. Have you worked with VBA before?

I am familiar with VBA, I just wasn't aware that I could use it produce results in multiple columns. Any assistance you could provide would be appreciated. I am self taught on most code, so I am learning something new everyday :-)

Sure, please can you attach a sample workbook so we're working from the same starting point?

I appreciate your assistance!
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by SRR; 07-11-11 at 20:13.

I've attached a formula solution.

In cells A67:A77 I've listed the distinct numbers which teams can be assigned per post #1.

Then I put this formula in B67:
    Code:
    =IF(SUM(COUNTIF(B$4:B$64,{""," ","*,","*, "}&$A67&{"";" ";",*";" ,*"})),"",$A67)